MoonRiver has green fingers……

……well sort of!

Today I’ll introduce you all to my little garden. All of you probably realise by now that I’m quite ‘into’ all things green and natural; leaves and bushes excite me as I walk along and interesting wildlife catches my eye. However it may come as a surprise that I’m not so interested in growing pretty flowers as I am lovely vegetables.

When we moved into our house about 2 1/2 years ago the front garden was just open grass onto the footpath.

What a waste of perfectly good garden I thought to myself – so I set about fencing it in to keep passing dogs and footballing children trampling everything. Several injuries later, my do-it-myself picket fence was finished (and I’m pleased to say is still standing!)

First we used the space to keep our two hens but having moved them to the back garden over the winter where it’s more sheltered, I decided that I liked them better there and started to dig up all the rough grass to make a veggie plot. My goodness was that ground hard work to clear – it had been laid to grass since the house was first built and wasn’t going to give in lightly.

Then I set about building the beds – having put all that effort into digging already, I prefer the raised bed no-dig method! And then disaster struck and the awful weather of last year killed off pretty much everything that I had growing.

I’ve begun this year with great enthusiasm again though – all the collected compost from the bins along with the ‘waste products’ of the various pets have been buried in the trenches (more digging!) and all the creeping cinquefoil and dandelions removed, root by root. Some seeds are starting to appear and I’ve just planted out beans, peas, lettuce, squash, cucumber and courgettes. Oh and the strawberries seem to be settling in quite well.

This is the garden as of today:

100_5378

100_5374

100_5375

100_5377

I’ll do another picture later in the year if it all grows!

Now all I need is time and patience (something which my youngest clearly hasn’t got as he asks every 5 minutes if he can pick the beans yet) – here’s hoping that the weather’s a bit kinder this year!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

theknittingmoon.wordpress.com/

adventures in knitting design (and other craftiness...)

Pink Peppermint Crafts

Soy and beeswax candles handmade in South Wales

Susie B Designs

Contemporary calligraphy | Illustration | Design

Through The Looking Glass

My experiments in crafting, cooking and life...

Kid the Cat's Son

Crafting magpie with incurable fabric addiction

organdie

the photographic musings of emmastickley

theautumnorchard.wordpress.com/

Handmade real flower jewellery and nature inspired accessories

fromacountrycottage

trying to live as lightly as possible on our beautiful planet

Prayer Communication with God

#Prayer|#Encouragement|#Relationships|#BeMore

La Depaysee

Feeling Foreign Around The World

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

Lara Hannah Camilleri

Personal Art Development

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

Comments on: Sunflower Valley

Inspiration is all around for those who choose to find it.

Inspiration is all around for those who choose to find it.

