Of bears, sentimentality and fingerprint jewellery……

ImageI am, at heart, incredibly sentimental. It seems that this trait has increased with age, or at least from having children. Things that meant something to me as a child continue to touch me as an adult, often changing their meaning over time. For this reason you will now find me, every New Year, curled up on the sofa with tissue in hand and tears streaming down my cheeks as I watch (again) the fabulously sentimental ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’. Also I confess to feeling rather lost if I find it’s been too long since opening the pages of my favourite childhood book, The House at Pooh Corner. 

It was this sentimentality that drew me to making silver keepsake jewellery. Being able to capture a precious fingerprint and make a beautiful piece of jewellery that I can treasure forever helps me a little bit when I think of how every day my children grow, learn and change just a little bit more. Amongst all the frustrations of daily life with children, there simply remains the fact that they won’t be there forever. How soon the baby days are over and before you know it you are waving them off for their first day at school! Which brings me back to Pooh……

I make no apology for the tears splashing on my keyboard as I read (and type) a quote from the end of the book, as Christopher Robin gets ready to start school and move away from his nursery friends in the Hundred Acre Wood:

 “Pooh, promise you won’t forget about me, ever. Not even when I’m a hundred.”

Pooh thought for a little.

“How old shall I be then?”

“Ninety-nine.”

Pooh nodded.

“I promise,” he said………….

So they went off together. But wherever they go, and whatever happens to them on the way, in that enchanted place on the top of the Forest a little boy and his Bear will always be playing.

(A. A. Milne, The House at Pooh Corner) 

ImageOriginal artwork by E. H. Shepard

 

If you would like to find out more about my silver fingerprint jewellery range then please visit my website at http://www.moonriverjewellery.co.uk

Image

(And yes, I do still have my childhood teddy bear AND my old copy of The House at Pooh Corner even though the pages are a little loose.)

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Of bears, sentimentality and fingerprint jewellery……

  1. I still have my copy too… and must read it again, although I fear it will make me cry like it does you… And It’s A Wonderful Life is one of my favourite films and never fails to move me.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

theknittingmoon.wordpress.com/

adventures in knitting design (and other craftiness...)

Pink Peppermint Crafts

Soy and beeswax candles handmade in South Wales

Susie B Designs

Contemporary calligraphy | Illustration | Design

Through The Looking Glass

My experiments in crafting, cooking and life...

Kid the Cat's Son

Crafting magpie with incurable fabric addiction

organdie

the photographic musings of emmastickley

theautumnorchard.wordpress.com/

Handmade real flower jewellery and nature inspired accessories

fromacountrycottage

trying to live as lightly as possible on our beautiful planet

Prayer Communication with God

#Prayer|#Encouragement|#Relationships|#BeMore

La Depaysee

Feeling Foreign Around The World

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

Lara Hannah Camilleri

Personal Art Development

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

Comments on: Sunflower Valley

Inspiration is all around for those who choose to find it.

Inspiration is all around for those who choose to find it.

